From the Principal’s Desk

December 3, 2018
Congratulations to Emma Ackerman as she qualified to represent Helena High School in the All-Northwest Choir. We appreciate Molly Steele for her guidance with these students.

November 26, 2018

Congratulations to the HHS Science Olympiad team. The HHS team finished in third place out of a field of 57 teams!
Individual categories winners include:

  • First place in Fossils–Heath Caldwell and Alyssa Plant
  • First place in Dynamic Planet (Glaciers)–Heath Caldwell and Alyssa Plant
  • First place in GeoLogic Mapping–Heath Caldwell and Owen Petersen
  • First place in Water Quality–Carson Putnam and Avery Skibicki

November 19, 2018

Great news from our Orchestra program. Congratulations to Sonja Severtson, Celia Quintana, Lenny Triem and Fischer Friend. These students were selected to the All-Northwest Orchestra. Students were selected out of more than 5000 qualifiers and will participate with the All-Northwest Orchestra in February in Portland. Congratulations to Mr. Harris and our students.

November 5, 2018

Today, Wendy’s® announces the 2018 Wendy’s High School Heisman School Winners.  From a total applicant pool of nearly 42,000 high school scholar-athletes graduating with the class of 2019, more than 7,500 have been named School Winners in Wendy’s annual scholarship competition.

Congratulations to senior Connor Murgel for being selected as a finalist for Montana Wendy’s High School Heisman.

School Winners will continue to compete for the chance to become State Finalists, State Winners, National Finalists or National Winners. State Winners receive a $500 college scholarship, National Finalists receive a $1,000 college scholarship and the male and female National Winners receive a $5,000 college scholarship and trip to New York City to attend the Heisman Trophy Trust’s annual college Heisman award broadcast on Saturday, December 8, 2018.

October 22, 2018

Congratulations to the following HHS students that were selected to the 2018 MMEA All-State Orchestra:  Owen Cleary, Morgan Oie, Celia Quintana, Alyson Rake, Sonja Severtson, Lenny Triem. Thanks to Zach Harris and his dedication and leadership with this group!

Congratulations to the Women’s Cross Country team. Ladies finished in 4th place at this weekends State Cross Country meet in Missoula. HHS had 3 finishers in the top 20 and Freshman Kylie Hartnett finished 7th and is All-State. Thanks for your efforts coach Paull! Great season!

October 1, 2018
Congratulations to Ginny Kerr (8th) and Reyla Williams (12th) as they qualified for All-State during last week’s State Golf Tournament in Butte. Girls finished 4th and boys team finished 7th.

September 17, 2018

National Merit Scholarship Program have released the long awaited National Merit Semifinalist list 2019 and that of the Finalist List 2019.  High School Winners get $2,500 each to Study in USA.  The National Merit Scholarship Program is a Scholarship and Competionhave your which Started since 1955.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is designed for High School Students in the United States of America.  Students enter the Competition  with their Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®)

This Documet is the first screening requirement for approximately 1.6  million people every year. Names of students whose PSAT scores are high enough can keep them in the race for the scholarship award .

Congratulations to our Helena High School 2019 National Merit Semifinalists:
Aurora Boutin
Aidan Morris
Ben Ries-Roncalli
Sonja Severtson
Elena Skibicki

Helena IR – September 13, 2018

Helena High boys soccer coach Carl Straub wins 200th game

Get Connected!  Yep, there’s an app for that! Check out our Helena High app in Google Play or the App Store for iPhones. Access phone numbers, calendars, schedules, announcements and much, much more! There is information for both parents and students, so make sure your son or daughter knows about it, too!  PoerSchool Links, School Calendar, Daily Schedules, Events Calendar, School News, Game Themes, Appointments with Counselors, HHS Map, Directions to AA Schools, Clubs Information, Staff Directory and so much more!








Parent Link meeting  

Parents – this is your opportunity to meet and talk with Principal Thennis. These meetings are held the first Wednesday of every month at noon in the Helena High School Library. This is your time to get to know Helena High school and get answers from me – the Principal.